Solid Waste District

The Northwest Missouri Regional Solid Waste Management District, Region A, is aligned with the Regional Council made up of Atchison, Gentry, Holt, Nodaway  and  Worth counties.  It is one of twenty Solid  Waste Management Districts operating with uniquely different funding levels, board structures, administrative organization, geographic size and demographics. District oversight is provided by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources Solid Waste Management Program.

Region A operates with a Full Council and Executive Board comprised of community leaders representing each county and cities with a population over 500. They meet on a regular basis; Full Council semi-annually and the Executive Board monthly. These two groups oversee all activities of the district, governed both by bylaws and Missouri state law.

The Solid Waste Advisory Committee, comprised of industry and regional community representatives, meets once each year. This committee makes recommendations to the Executive Board.  Their job is to review the Solid Waste Management District goals and to advise the Executive Board on the merits of grant applications.

Region A Solid Waste Management Plan Goals

  • Reduce the amount of solid waste entering the landfill.
  • Promote the reuse of products and materials in the district.
  • Promote and assist the implementation of recycling projects throughout the region.
  • Encourage local governments and citizens to get involved in compost programs.
  • Encourage proper disposal techniques and provide infrastructure for waste management.
  • Collaborate with local governments and solid waste service providers to ensure safe and sanitary management and compliance of solid waste regulations.
  • Support disposal of special wastes.
  • Provide public education to citizens of the region through multiple outlets.
Solid Waste Management District Board Members
Solid Waste Management District Executive Board Officers
Debbie Roach Chairman
Jack Baldwin Vice Chairman
Wilbur Noakes Secretary/Treasurer
Rod Dollars Member
Kathy Morgan Member
Duane Nauman Member
Scott Poppa Member
Full Council Officers
Kathy Morgan Chairman
Debbie Roach Vice Chairman
Wilbur Noakes Secretary/Treasurer
Atchison County
Jim Quimby County
Richard Burke County
Scott Poppa Tarkio
Ryan Kingery Fairfax
Sam Lansdown Rock Port
Gentry County
Larry Wilson County
Rod Dollars County
Linda Peterson Stanberry
Don Combe King City
Kathy Morgan Albany
Holt County
Carla Markt County
David Carroll County
Duane Nauman Mound City
Nodaway County
Robert Stiens County
Wilbur Noakes County
Jack Baldwin Hopkins
Jason McDowell Maryville
Justin Plymell Burlington Jct.
Worth County
Regan Nonneman County
Tyler Paxon County
Debbie Roach Grant City
Advisory Committee
Cynthia Pederson Citizen
Dick VanVactor Citizen
Brian Kelly Solid Waste Industry
Diane Higdon Commercial Generator
John Viau Commercial Generator
Grant Program

Region A starts the grant process in February with a grant call, the public posting in regional newspapers of the availability of grant funds. Through a competitive grant application process, the grant requests submitted are evaluated and ranked by the Solid Waste Management District Executive Board in April. The grant requests must meet specific criteria established by the Executive Board to be considered for funding.  This is a reimbursement grant program. Each applicant must document all aspects of their request including bid documents, budget, and letters of commitment from those providing in-kind goods and services or cash match.  Match is required by the District at a minimum of 20% with some exceptions.

Applications approved at the local level are then submitted to the State for a second review process and approval.  Once the State approves the application for funding, the grant funds are released to the District for distribution to the subgrantees.

A Financial Assistance Agreement (FAA) is signed between the subgrantee and the District to finalize the grant process. The Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Solid Waste Management Program 'General Terms and Conditions' referenced in the Financial Assistance Agreement can be found below.

The District reimburses the applicant with proof of payment and the designated invoice which is the last page of the FAA.  All invoices must be approved by the  Executive Board. Each subgrantee is responsible for quarterly status reports, and final report for the grant project. Each quarter, project and financial reports are completed documenting fund administration and waste diversion.

General Terms and Conditions

District Grant Evaluation Review Criteria
Grant Application
District Grant Guidance Document
Financial Agreement Form

Northwest Missouri Regional Council of Governments
114 W. Third St. | Maryville, MO 64468
Phone: (660) 582-5121     |     Fax: (660) 582-7264