Transportation Planning

The Northwest Missouri Regional Council of Governments assists local governments with planning to address individual community and regional needs. Our staff is available to assist with projects ranging from a single targeted community issue to the development of a comprehensive city plan to a strategic and comprehensive plan for the entire region.

Staff can provide technical assistance services such as:

  • Community and strategic planning facilitation
  • Economic development studies
  • Mapping assistance- including GIS data layers, utility mapping, etc.
  • Public meeting facilitation
  • Research and analysis
  • Planning and zoning activities
  • Income surveys

Transportation Planning

The Regional Council offers professional transportation planning assistance to member governments in the form of comprehensive and strategic plans, GIS and Mapping assistance, road safety assessments, corridor studies and can provide traffic counter and speed monitoring for communities, as requested.

Read More

Since 1996, the Regional Council has partnered with the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) to plan transportation initiatives in Atchison, Gentry, Holt, Nodaway, and Worth Counties. Each year, with MoDOT's cooperation, these planning activities help ensure northwest Missouri's transportation system remains safe and efficient. The Regional Council aims to improve every person's transportation experience by partnering with MoDOT, local elective officials, and the public.

In order to meet the goal set forth by the Regional Council, the Regional Planner must execute a year long work plan. The tasks included in this work plan, along with quarterly Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) meetings, provide an outlet for MoDOT officials to gather input from the public. Public input is then considered in the planning process when discussing future projects.

The Northwest Missouri Regional Council of Governments has served as a leading voice for local planning efforts and firmly believes it serves as an important link between its localities and MoDOT. If you have any questions about transportation projects occurring locally, or need information, please do not hesitate to contact the Northwest Missouri Regional Council of Governments at (660) 582-5121. To report any highways that need attention, please call 1-888-ASK-MODOT.

LTAPsmall.jpg MoDotsmall.gif
Transportation Advisory Committee Board Members
Transportation Advisory Committee Board Officers
Gary Carlson Chairman
Regan Nonneman Vice Chairman
Atchison County
Curtis Livengood County
Jim Quimby County
Michael Klosek, Jr. Tarkio
Gentry County
Gary Carlson County
Kathy Morgan Albany
Bruce Johnson Stanberry
Holt County
Mark Sitherwood County
David Carroll Oregon
Carla Markt County (non-voting)
Hugh Wallace Mound City
Nodaway County
Chris Burns County
Jack Baldwin Hopkins
C. E. Goodall Maryville
Robert Stiens County (non-voting)
Worth County
Regan Nonneman County
Ted Findley
Jim Fletchall Grant City

Northwest Missouri Regional Council of Governments
114 W. Third St. | Maryville, MO 64468
Phone: (660) 582-5121     |     Fax: (660) 582-7264